STATE OF MINNESOTA SUNSET ADVISORY COMMISSION

MINUTES:

Chair Mary Kiffmeyer convened the meeting of the Sunset Advisory Commission at 12:07 pm on Tuesday January 31, 2012 in Room 300 South of the State Office Building.

The Committee Administrator noted the roll: Members present: Chair Rep. Mary Kiffmeyer Vice Chair Senator Terri Bonoff Rep. Mike Nelson Senator Ted Daley Senator Paul Gazelka Rep. King Banaian Rep. Joyce Peppin Javier Morillo, Public Member

The following members participated by phone: Sharon Erickson Ropes, Public Member Matt Entenza, Public Member Ruth Orrick, Public Member

Members excused: Senator Mike Parry

The Commission reviewed the final report of the Sunset Advisory Commission.

The Commission discussed recommendation item 2b relating to the Combative Sports Commission.

Rep. Peppin moved to reinstate the original language of recommendation2b that states "The Commission recommends that the Combative Sports Commission sunset, and its necessary functions be transferred to the Amateur Sports Commission. The Amateur Sports Commission should be renamed "The Minnesota Sports Commission," and its statutory duties amended to include those formerly carried out the by Combative Sports Commission".

A roll call vote was taken. There being 4 ayes, 6 nays and 1 pass, the motion did not prevail. Ayes: Rep. Peppin, Rep. Banaian, Sen. Gazelka, Chair Kiffmeyer Nays: Rep. Nelson, Ms. Orrick, Mr. Morillo, Ms. Erickson Ropes, Mr. Entenza, Vice Chair Bonoff Pass: Sen. Daley

Sen. Bonoff moved Amendment 1. Sen. Bonoff withdrew her motion. Rep. Banaian moved adoption of the first paragraph of Amendment 1.

A roll call vote was taken. There being 11 ayes and 0 nays, the motion prevailed. Ayes: Rep. Peppin, Rep. Banaian, Sen. Gazelka, Sen. Daley, Rep. Nelson, Ms. Orrick, Mr. Morillo, Ms. Erickson Ropes, Mr. Entenza, Vice Chair Bonoff, Chair Kiffmeyer Rep. Nelson moved the Commission accept the final report, as amended, and present it to the legislature.

A roll call vote was taken. There being 10 ayes, 0 nays and 1 pass, the motion prevailed. Ayes: Rep. Banaian, Sen. Gazelka, Sen. Daley, Rep. Nelson, Ms. Orrick, Mr. Morillo, Ms. Erickson Ropes, Mr. Entenza, Vice Chair Bonoff, Chair Kiffmeyer Pass: Rep. Peppin

The meeting was adjourned at 12:44 pm.