## MINUTES:

Chair Mary Kiffmeyer convened the meeting of the Sunset Advisory Commission at 9:11 am on Monday December 12, 2011 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Administrator noted the roll:

Members present:

Chair Rep. Mary Kiffmeyer

Vice Chair Senator Terri Bonoff

Rep. Mike Nelson

Rep. Joyce Peppin

Senator Ted Daley

Sharon Erickson Ropes, Public Member

Ruth Orrick, Public Member

Matt Entenza, Public Member

Members excused:

Javier Morillo, Public Member

Rep. King Banaian

Senator Mike Parry

Senator Paul Gazelka

Testimony began for the day with Larry Spicer, Executive Director of the Board of Chiropractic Examiners, giving an overview presentation of the Chiropractic Board to the Commission.

Angelina M. Barnes, Executive Director of the Board of Psychology, gave an overview presentation of the Board of Psychology to the Commission.

Shirley Brekken, Executive Director of the Board of Nursing, gave an overview presentation of the Board of Nursing to the Commission.

The Commission took a brief recess at 10:55 am.

Chair Kiffmeyer reconvened the Commission at 11:05 am.

The following three boards that gave overviews are not up for review by the Sunset Commission statute in calendar years 2011/2012, but were asked to give an overview of their operations as they are non-medical related boards.

Thora Fisko, Executive Secretary of the Board of Barber Examiners, gave an overview of the Board of Barbers to the Commission.

Gina Stauss-Fast, Executive Director of the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners, gave an overview of the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners to the Commission. Juli Vangsness, Accounting Director of the Administrative Services Unit, answered members' questions. Mark Shepard, House Research, also provided information on Health Department oversight.

Pam Biladeau, Executive Director of the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board, presented an overview of the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board.

The Commission took a lunch break at 12:15 pm.

Chair Kiffmeyer reconvened the Commission at 12:45 pm.

Craig Gallop, Chair of the Combative Sports Commission, and R.D. Brown, Executive Director of the Combative Sports Commission, presented an overview of the Combative Sports Commission.

Duane Arens, Chair of the Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission, and Paul Erickson, Executive Director of the Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission, presented an overview of the Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission.

Nancy Stark, Executive Secretary of the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board (CAAPB), and Paul Mandell, Principal Planner and Zoning Administrator, gave an overview presentation on the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board.

Joan Willshire, Executive Director of the Minnesota State Council on Disability, presented an overview of the Minnesota State Council on Disability.

The next meeting of the Minnesota Sunset Advisory Commission will be on Thursday December 15, 2011 at 2:00 pm.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 pm