MINUTES:

Chair Mary Kiffmeyer convened the meeting of the Sunset Advisory Commission at 2:03pm on Thursday December 8, 2011 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Administrator noted the roll:

Members present:

Chair Rep. Mary Kiffmeyer

Vice Chair Senator Terri Bonoff

Rep. Mike Nelson

Rep. Joyce Peppin

Senator Mike Parry

Senator Paul Gazelka

Senator Ted Daley

Sharon Erickson Ropes, Public Member

Ruth Orrick, Public Member

Matt Entenza, Public Member

Members excused:

Javier Morillo, Public Member

Rep. King Banaian

Rep. Nelson moved approval of the minutes from the meeting on 11/21/11. The minutes were approved on a voice vote.

Rob Leach, Executive Director of the Board of Medical Practice, gave an overview presentation on the Board of Medical Practice.

Randy Snyder, Executive Director of the Administrative Services Unit, and Juli Vangsness, Accounting Director, presented an overview of the Administrative Services Unit which handles the back office functions for the 15 medical boards.

Commission members requested that each board or agency that presents to the Sunset Commission provide more detailed budgeting financial information such as balance sheets, salary structures, and revenue and expense streams.

Dr. Cody Wiberg, Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy, and Ruth Richardson, public member of the Board of Pharmacy, gave an overview presentation on the Board of Pharmacy. Dr. Wiberg mentioned possibly needing some statute changes regarding collection of data.

Marshall Shragg, Executive Director for the Board of Dentistry, gave an overview presentation on the Board of Dentistry.

Kate Zacher-Pate, Executive Director of the Board of Social Work, and Ruth Richardson, public member of the Board of Social Work, gave an overview presentation on the Board of Social Work.

Randy Snyder, Executive Director of the Board of Optometry, gave an overview presentation on the Board of Optometry.

The next meeting of the Sunset Commission is scheduled for Friday December 9th, 2011 from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:33 pm