TRUSTEES CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL

MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, December 3, 2009 1:30 p.m. Room 10, State Office Building

Present:

Kent Eklund, Chair Nimco Ahmed Joe Aitken Nancy Black Marilyn Cathcart Yvonne Condell Carl Crimmins John Dorn Zainab Hassan Sonia Hohnadel Timothy Huebsch Del Jenkins

Liz Kuoppala David Larkin Janet Lekson Lisa Peilen Earl Rasmussen

Carolyn Williams

Billie Young

Absent:

Donavan Bailey
Dean Doyscher
Kelley Koemptgen
John Poupart
Bruce Watkins

The Trustee Candidate Advisory Council (TCAC) was called to order by Kent Eklund, TCAC Chair, at 1:31 pm. A quorum was present.

Mr. Eklund welcomed all members. There being several newly appointed members to the TCAC, all members introduced themselves.

Approval of Minutes

Earl Rasmussen moved approval of the minutes from the April 2 - 4, 2008 meetings. **MOTION PREVAILED.**

Overview of the TCAC

Mr. Eklund spoke to Minnesota Statute 136F.03 and reviewed the purpose, duties and process for the TCAC. Mr. Eklund explained the duty before the TCAC is to recommend two to four candidates to the governor per open seat on the Board of Trustees by April 15, 2010.

Mr. Eklund reviewed Exhibit 5 "Criteria for Members of the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities" and asked members to review a proposed addition to the criteria for action at the January meeting. He then reviewed Exhibit 6 "Responsibilities for Individual Members of the Board of Trustees".

Mr. Eklund reviewed the history of Board of Trustees Appointments by the Governor and noted in 2008, three of the four Board appointments were selected from the TCAC recommendations.

Election of council chair and vice chair(s)

Billie Young moved to nominate Kent Eklund as chair of the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council. Seconded. **MOTION PREVAILED.**

Lisa Peilen moved to nominate Nancy Black as vice chair of the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council. Seconded. **MOTION PREVAILED.**

Council Member contact information

Mr. Eklund reviewed the private and public contact list. He noted the private list was for Council member use only while the public list could be shared. Mr. Eklund asked members to review their contact information and submit any changes to Sally Kidd.

MnSCU board status and recruitment timeline

Mr. Eklund explained there are four vacancies on the Board that must be filled: two at-large positions, one in Congressional District 1, and one in Congressional District 8. The four members with terms expiring are: Duane Benson, District 1; Ruth Grendahl, District 2; David Olson, At-large; and Thomas Reiner, District 8. Since the board does not have any current representation from District 1 or District 8, expiring members' terms notwithstanding, recruitment will be done for those two districts in addition to two at-large positions. The intentions of the incumbents are not known at this time.

Mr. Eklund reviewed Minnesota Statute 136F.0045, which states that the AFL-CIO is to recommend two to four candidates to the governor for an open seat in 2010 and every six years thereafter. Member discussion of how the statute will impact the TCAC process ensued.

Yvonne Condell moved the chair meet with legislative counsel to find out the legal implications of the new statute and how it will impact the TCAC process this cycle. **Motion Prevailed.**

Mr. Eklund then reviewed the 2009-10 TCAC schedule. Mr. Eklund informed members a meeting needs to be held before January 8, 2010 because of the deadline to mail recruitment letters and press releases. The January meeting was scheduled for Tuesday, January 5, 2010 at 1:30 pm. In the event of snow, members were asked to reserve Thursday, January 7, 2010 as well. Members then discussed the meeting in which applications would be screened and interviewees would be selected. It was decided this meeting would be held on Wednesday, March 3, 2010 at 1:30 pm. Finally, members discussed the schedule for the candidate interviews. It was decided the 2010 candidate interviews would be held on Wednesday, April 7th, Thursday, April 8th and Friday, April 9th.

TCAC Procedures

Mr. Eklund described the two subcommittees of the TCAC, the Policy/Procedures Subcommittee and the Publicity/Recruitment Subcommittee. Mr. Eklund requested volunteers to serve on each Subcommittee. Members serving on the Policy/Procedures Subcommittee include: Lisa Peilen, Carolyn Williams, Janet Lekson and Del Jenkins. Members serving on the Publicity/Recruitment Subcommittee include: Liz Kuoppala, Sonia Hohnadel, Tim Huebsch and Nimco Ahmed.

Program planning for next meeting, e.g. guest speakers

Members discussed possible guest speakers for the next meeting. It was decided to invite Chancellor James McCormick to address the Council at the January 5, 2010 meeting.

Other items as approved by the chair There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

Kent Eklund, Chair		