Back to Legal
Parental Leave, Family and Medical
and Pregnancy Discrimination
This brochure provides general information on Minnesota's
Parental Leave Law,
the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, pregnancy discrimination and other
related laws. It is not intended to
provide legal advice.
To answer personal legal questions, consult with an attorney.
Many workers in Minnesota are now eligible for unpaid leave upon
the birth or adoption of a child, depending on the size of the company for which they
Companies with 21 to 49 employees are covered by Minnesota's Parental Leave Law.
Companies with 50 or more employees are covered by the U.S. Family and
Medical Leave Act. These laws guarantee a return to employment. However, workers in
small companies (fewer than 21 employees) are not covered under either of these laws.
Regardless of company size, workers should check their company personnel policy regarding
Minnesota law requires all employers to provide unpaid break time
for nursing mothers who wish to express breast milk. Employers must also make a "reasonable
effort" to provide a room (other than a toilet stall) where breast milk can be
Sick or Injured
Child Care Leave
If your employer has more than 21 full-time employees and provides
paid sick leave - and you have worked an average of 20 hours or more per week - your
employer must allow you to use any accrued sick time to care for your own sick
School Conference and Activities Leave
All employees, regardless of the size of the
company, can take up to 16 hours per year of unpaid leave to attend the school, child care
and other educational activities of their children. This leave is unpaid, but employees
may use any accrued paid vacation time they have.
Leave Main Page | Minnesota's
Parental Leave Law
and Medical Leave Act | Pregnancy
Discrimination | Resources